Curriculum Vitae

Daniel B. Werz

Born October 12, 1975 in Heidelberg

Author Profile, Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2015, 54, 12206-12207; Angew. Chem. 2015, 127, 12374-12375.

Google Scholar


Academic Tree

Education and Research Experience

2022- Full Professor and Chair of Organic Chemistry at the University of Freiburg
2018-2022 Full Professor and Chair of Organic Chemistry at Technische Universität Braunschweig
2013-2018 Associate Professor at Technische Universität Braunschweig
2012 Deputy Full Professorship at the Georg-August-Universität Göttingen
2006-2011 Habilitation at the Georg-August-Universität Göttingen (Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Lutz F. Tietze)
2004-2006 Postdoc at ETH Zurich, Switzerland (Prof. Dr. Peter H. Seeberger)
2000-2003 Ph.D. Thesis at the Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg (Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Rolf Gleiter,
„Electron-Rich Alkynes – Synthesis, Structure and Reactivity“ (summa cum laude))
2000 Diploma (MSc): „with distinction“
1998/1999 Exchange Student at University of Bristol, UK
1997 Prediploma (BSc): „very good“
1995-2000 Studies of Chemistry at the Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg
1995 Abitur at the Elisabeth-von-Thadden-Schule, Heidelberg

Visiting Professorships

2021- Honorary Faculty, IIT Guwahati, India
2018 Visiting Scholar, Tel Aviv University, Israel
2017- Distinguished Visiting Professor Fellowship, IIT Bombay, India
2015 Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS) Visiting Professor Fellowship, Kyoto University, Japan

Fellowships, Awards and Honors

2023- Alexander von Humboldt Scout – Henriette Herz Scouting Program
2023 Helvetica Chimica Acta Lecture, Swiss Chemical Society
2021 Offer for a Full Professorship (Chair) at the University of Freiburg (accepted)
2017 Offer for a Full Professorship (Chair) at the University of Ulm (declined)
2015 ERC Consolidator Grant
2014 ORCHEM Award 2014
2012 Teaching Award – Lecture „Natural Products“
2012 Teaching Award – Lecture „Heterocycles“
2012 Heisenberg Fellowship (DFG)
2012 G.I.F. Young Scientists Program
2011 Dozentenstipendium (Fonds der Chemischen Industrie)
2010 GlycoThera Award
2010 JSP Fellowship (Bürgenstock Conference)
2009 Award of the Dr. Otto Röhm Foundation
2008 Thieme Journal Award
2007 Emmy Noether Fellowship (DFG)
2006 Liebig Fellowship (Fonds der Chemischen Industrie)
2006 Klaus Grohe Award (GDCh)
2004 Ruprecht-Karls Award for Ph.D. Thesis (Universität Heidelberg)
2005-2006 DFG Emmy Noether Fellowship (Phase I) for postdoctoral research
2004-2005 Feodor Lynen Fellowship (Alexander von Humboldt Foundation)
2001-2003 Ph.D. Fellowship (Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes)
2000 Sophie-Bernthsen Award (Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg)
1998/1999 ERASMUS Fellowship (European Union)
1997 Otto-Hofmann Award (Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg)
1996-2000 Fellow of the Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes


2024-2028 Chairman of the Liebig Association for Organic Chemistry of the German Chemical Society
(Liebig-Vereinigung für Organische Chemie)
2024- Elected Review Board Member of the DFG Panel Molecular Chemistry
2023- Editorial Advisory Board Member European Journal of Organic Chemistry
2022- Head of the GDCh Section Freiburg-Südbaden
2022- Editorial Advisory Board Member Helvetica Chimica Acta
2021-2022 Dean of Studies
2020-2024 Elected Board Member of the Liebig Association for Organic Chemistry of the German Chemical Society, Vice Chairman
(Liebig-Vereinigung für Organische Chemie)
2015-2022 Head of the GDCh Section in Braunschweig
2013-2022 Associate Editor „Journal of Carbohydrate Chemistry“
Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg
Institut für Organische Chemie
Albertstraße 21
D-79104 Freiburg